Finally Back on the Tandem, Pesky Noises & That Composite Saddle…

BACK IN THE SADDLE!

20161105_135315Was really glad that we got out on the tandem last Saturday and Sunday; it way overdue. Saturday was definitely the stronger day for us and it felt great!  Sunday, not so much. We still got in 25 miles, but struggled to hold our average over the last 1/2 of the ride.

CHASING NOISES… AGAIN!

Thankfully, I think I finally figured out what was causing the clicking sound and I can’t believe I didn’t remember before tearing the entire drivetrain apart.

So, yeah…

  • I pulled the bottom brackets out and changed those: no effect, still clicking.
  • Then I pulled off my pedals to switch those out with another set I pulled off the triplet.
  • As I was pulling off my pedals it finally dawned on me what was causing the noise.
  • I went ahead an put on the other pedals to be sure but yeah… the clicking was coming fspeep_frog_titaniumLRG_07rom my pedals.
  • It happened once before many, many years back when I first got the Frogs with the Titanium axles for the 2nd Erickson.
  • Soon after we started riding on those pedals they developed a click.
  • It turned out that the pedal axle threads didn’t quite fit as tightly as they should so I had to use a thick yellow thread tape to tighten up the interface.
  • It worked great & problem solved.

slictiteyellowtape_appSo, what did I discover when I pulled the Ti axle Frogs off the Calfee?  Yup, the tape had been worn-away.  So, after putting on the other pedals to confirm that would stop the clicking, I removed them and put the Ti ones back on but with the yellow thread tape: silence!

Fingers crossed, that’s all it was.  Amazing what things you run into with this stuff.  I’ll probably leave the other bottom bracket in until I have a reason to pull off the bottom end of the drive train again.  But, as I said, so good to get rid of that noise: it was driving me nuts.

SADDLE UPDATE

20160901_192845Speaking of getting driving me nuts, sadly the Selle Anatomica C2 saddle is probably not going to work for me.  The mid-section is just too wide and not something I’ve been able to adapt to.  I proved that out over the past two weekends by switching back to my tried-and-true Selle Italia ProLink saddle on the Calfee.  I was instantly rewarded with a very familiar and very comfortable saddle contour. Now, all is not lost as I still need to see if Debbie wants to give it a trial run.  My fear with my dear Debbie is that she’ll find the unpadded composite shell a bit too uncomfortable.  But, I’ll do my best to let her give it a try.  She’s still getting “chewed up” on the regular leather saddles by what I suspect is the perimeter edge which I’ve attempted to round-off, but to little effect.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish, Technology & Equip.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

