When Good Laptops Go Bad…. Thank You MicroCenter!

20161008_144215My trusty five-year old Apple MacBook Pro – a fairly souped-up 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7 with 17″ display — decided to stop working while we were out of town on a trip last week.  It had been working just fine, albeit a bit slow on start-ups, but otherwise still delivering flawless performance. However, after putting it to sleep before heading out for Friday’s ride at the Southern Tandem Rally on this past Friday I attempted to wake it up upon our return some 6 hours later and despite several reboots in various safe modes and with other features locked-up, the MacBook Pro simply wouldn’t go past about 30% complete on the start-up.

I finally gave up after running on-line diagnostics that said everything was fine and a few other tricks that usually bring a MacBook out of a cold sleep and took it to MicroCenter in Marietta, Georgia, on Monday, October 10th as they still sell and service Apple computers.

Their Apple Tech Lance called on Tuesday with a bad news / good news story.  The bad news was the $500 Logic Board (aka, Mother Board) had failed and it along with two other components on the Logic Board needed to be replaced. The good news was, Apple had issued a recall on the Logic Board on these particular laptops and all costs associated with that repair we’re covered, including MicroCenter’s $40 diagnostics.

I received a follow-up call from Lance on Thursday, October 13th letting me know my laptop was now up and running with the new Logic Board and had no other issues: I was good to go!

Well… almost good to go.  I’d stopped backing up my laptop a while back as the drive that I was using didn’t really work all that well.  So, before leaving the store I stopped back at the Apple sales department and picked up a 3TB Western Digital Passport backup drive so that I could back-up the entire 1TB hard drive on one partition, and then use a second partition for my time-machine / daily data back-ups.  I’ll probably use the 3rd partition to go and back-up my older MacBook.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When Good Laptops Go Bad…. Thank You MicroCenter!

  1. Ed Hass says:

    “It had been working just fine, albeit a bit slow on start-ups, but otherwise still delivering flawless performance.”
    My five year old desktop (Windows I7, 3.4 GHz) takes about 4 minutes to boot up. However, my MS Surface 3 (Windows Atom 1.6 GHz) takes only 30 seconds. Also fits nicely in a pannier 🙂
    Get a solid state drive.

Leave a Reply

