A Perfect Shift Every Time…

20160807_111122Well, after several months and perhaps 2,000 miles of riding the Calfee since installing the Shimano Ultegra 6700/6703 shifters and an old M950 XTR rear derailleur from the 90’s plus all new cables and housings I’ve got to say I’m pretty impressed.  I didn’t think I’d ever be able to adapt to anything other than my beloved Campy Ergo shifters but I’ve really come to appreciate the well-engineered the Shimano Ultegra shifters.

Shimano-Ultegra-Schalt-Bremsgriffe-STI-ST-6700-ST-8a4c5cc8afe04e6adf35e344789c65b9I think it was about five minutes before I took our ubiquitous mid-tandem ride selfie that I realized I was now taking smooth shifting for granted.  That’s saying something when you consider that I’m still running what is a mish-mash collection of components that are not designed to work together:  New Ultra 10 speed shifters with a 26 year old 8/9 speed Shimano XTR off-road derailleur, a Campy Record triple front derailleur with FSA chain rings and a Shimano 11x34t 10 speed cassette and KMC SL chain.

Yes, there are moments when I miss having that little thumb paddle on the Campy Ergo’s that I can flick with my pinky fingers without taking my hands off the bars while descending at speed, but those moments are far and few between.

Anyway, just thought I’d share my moment of cycling zen.

 

 

 

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish, Technology & Equip.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

