Too Cold for Miss Debbie, But OK For Yours Truly…

 The following are extracts from my other blog’s weekend journal.

Screen Shot 2016-02-14 at 10.07.24 AMWell, it’s definitely mid-winter here in Georgia.  We had a small brush with some snow this past week that gave us all something to talk about. However, it didn’t really have any impact and didn’t keep me from riding my motorcycle to work for my daily dose of two-wheel therapy.

As the history shows, temperatures have been bouncing around a lot this month with upper 60°F’s and mid-70°F’s early in the month. This week alone, we enjoyed near 60°F’s again on Friday afternoon but by Saturday morning it was 28°F and here we are again on Sunday with below-freezing temps.  So, as much as I’d like to be taking my Valentine out for a tandem ride, it’s just not in the cards.  However, the current forecast shows a warming trend coming on the heels of some rain that could give us a wintry mix on Monday, but that should be a non-event as the temps keep trending up and staying above freezing the rest of the week with upper 60’s next weekend. Fingers crossed, we’ll get out then and make the most of it.

However, even though there wasn’t any tandem riding this weekend, I did find some time on Friday to make updates to my tandem cycling website’s calendar of events.  Amazingly, that old website created using a 16-year-old piece of software continues to run on most of the browsers: simple is good!  I should probably take an on-line course on web authoring using a more contemporary software package.  But, since my website is non-revenue-generating I’m not sure the juice would be worth the squeeze if folks are still able to get what they need from it.  Oh well, I digress.

Floor_Mat_GoldsGymGiven that we’ve both been spending a lot more time in the home gym, I also decided to give the room an upgrade and bought 96 square feet of Gold’s Gym High Impact Flooring on Friday.  This would give Debbie a better surface for her aerobics workouts, keep the carpet from getting permanently ‘dented’ by my weights and just make the floor a easier to walk around on vs. having small pieces of rubber matting under the two bikes.

20160212_143503Job #1 on Friday afternoon became getting out on my mountain bike for an afternoon ride on the recently re-opened Allatoona Creek trails. All of our rain has had the trails closed more than they were open since January 1st, so finally having a warm day when the trail was OK for riding was just too hard to pass up.  It wasn’t a long ride, but the 10-miles or so was just about enough for my first off-road outing of the year.

I used Saturday for the installation of the flooring in our home gym.  20160214_120649Overall, I’m pretty pleased with how the project turned out. I over-achieved in one respect in that I didn’t fully account for how covering nearly all of the carpet would eliminate any sound dampening from the room: yeah, it was an echo chamber.  I wrongly assumed the rubber matting would have excellent sound absorbing qualities, but the glossy facing nullified that.  I pulled up 24 square feet to re-expose some of the carpet and that helped to knock down the echo effect.  I was able to re-use the that flooring down in the garage as mats for my work benches, something I should have done a long time ago.

20160214_121341 20160214_120549

I’d hoped the temps would have gotten high enough to entice Debbie out for an off-road tandem ride on Sunday where she’d be sheltered from the wind in our lovely wooded trail system.  Alas, no dice.  I ended up going off to ride by myself while she headed out to the home gym and did a 25-mile / 90-minute ride on the resistance trainer.

20160214_152419 20160214_152914

Happy Valentines Day to all of our readers!

locos

 

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Too Cold for Miss Debbie, But OK For Yours Truly…

  1. Jim Burgess says:

    Your conditions look tropical compared to here in Ottawa where it was colder than the North Pole a couple of days ago with wind chill of -41C. Many people doing “fatbiking” on the snowshoe trails regardless of the temperature. Not for me!!!
    Planning to leave for a month of cycling in Florida at the end of this month. Staying North of Tampa and will do the dedicated bike trails but hoping to find some routes on little traveled roads through agricultural areas and in the panhandle.
    No stoker so taking my roadbike.
    Hope it warms up soon.
    Cheers
    Jim

  2. Brian Warner says:

    Good to see the DF winter jersey is still in use. Stil my favorite for real cold rides below freezing. I think it is about 10 years now?
    Thanks Mark and Deb for creating a classic.

Leave a Reply

