Why yes, yes we did, despite the weather.

It was an interesting weekend weather wise.  It started off wet and cool and then it got really cool; I think they call it a cold front?

However, my sweetie decided to join me for a tandem ride on Saturday despite the lingering sprinkles, lack of warming rays from the sun and temps in the low 50’s.  It was our first time back on the tandem since November 14th and we had a wonderful time.  It felt strange riding the tandem after nearly two months of riding alone on my single bike, but it was so good to have Debbie out there with me.

No selfie during the ride (a) because I was wearing gloves and my phone was buried under a wind vest and wind breaker / rain jacket and, (b) I’m trying to take fewer selfies in 2016. Not sure how that will go as it is nice seeing selfies from our friends when they’re out doing things since it lets us see them enjoying life “in the moment” and, well, share and share alike.  But, if it’s any consolation, here’s a photo that I took after the ride of our damp tandem resting and warming up in the garage.

20160109_200619

 

We had talked about giving it a shot today, but with a high of only 39°F, absolutely no sun shine and a brisk 15-17 mph wind, we decided against it.  Probably the right call as I spent about an hour outside doing some work around the outside of the house and was chilled to the bone: definitely haven’t ‘hardened-up’ for the coming winter temps just yet.  However, I will say that for years back-in-the-day “no ride if below 40°F” was the rule of thumb so we REALLY are trying to keep our cycling noses to the grindstone!

Here’s hoping that next weekend brings us more conducive conditions to riding two-up, noting that we haven’t even been able to get out on our Harley, Blue II, for a weekend ride since December 13th.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

