How Bad Has Traffic Gotten Around Here?

Bad enough that a neighbor and co-worker who commutes to work by bicycle was able to leave the plant at the same time I did riding my motorcycle on Thursday and arrive home some 15 miles later before I did.

Admittedly, there was an accident along the route home that backed things up for an interminably long period of time, but the way the city of Marietta has recently re-timed traffic lights seems to ensure cars are brought to a stop at every intersection with a traffic light, adding about 10 minutes to the drive home.

I’m honestly think about commuting to work by bicycle a few days a week after Thursday’s’ realization, remembering that I commuted by bicycle for a few months back in the early 90’s.  Pretty sure I still have the fold-over garment bag / panniers for my suit. Not sure  how my dress shirts will hold their press in that bag…  Hmmm.

 

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Bad Has Traffic Gotten Around Here?

  1. leissp says:

    My commute is around 60 k round trip about 2:30 total time I take my clothes with me everyday rolled up dress pants, shirt and underwear. I could drive in less time but this works for me.

  2. Ross says:

    Drive one day a week and drop your clothes at work, Ride when you like then. Take a new bag the following week and return your dirty clothes. It takes some planning but it beats riding with a shoulder bag or panniers. My commute to work is 19 miles, just over the hour on the bike. If I drive in the AM on the freeway its about 30 mins but coming home 45 mins. Welcome to Norcal. The only thing I can do in the car is vent, chill to my tunes, worry about the news or be on the phone (headset). On my bike, I am burning calories, observing the driving habits of commuters, and if I take some of the bike paths, checking out the wildlife. Biking is preferable and if we had a shower at work, I would do it daily. It takes a while to get in the groove, but then your fitness and well being goes way up and it is all worth it. DO IT

Leave a Reply

