Three-Outta-Four Days of Cycling…

The second half of our long, Thanksgiving Day weekend delivered two more days of mild temperatures on Saturday and Sunday.

SATURDAY

20151128_103741I made the best of the mild weather and clear skies on Saturday by heading out around 10:00am for my 2nd bicycle ride of the long weekend.  My ubiquitous cycling selfie created some well-meaning concern from my loving sister Betsy in northern Illinois and our dear friend Cheryl in Southeastern Pennsylvania since I opted to ‘go Euro’ and left my helmet at home.  Sorry, it’s just one of those things I do every now and again when I’m longing for those days when no one felt the need to wear a helmet when cycling, skiing, skateboarding, playing hockey, etc.

Editorial Rant: Part of me understands the concern, since an ounce of prevention could keep a minor incident from becoming a life-changing event. Then again, bicycle helmets didn’t become a common piece of safety equipment until I was in my mid-20’s and as I think back on all the crazy stuff we did on bicycles as kids… yeah, well. Somehow we survived before Bell Sport Group and it’s predecessors and peers created the need for just about every activity to ‘require’ a helmet. It was a good strategy as the company with just under 3,000 employees is generating $900M in sales each year and earning their CEO a generous $1.5M in salary and bonuses.  Yes, I’m a bit cynical because I always follow the money trail. But, I digress.

It was a great ride, much more spirited than Thursday’s ride with about a 1.5 mph higher average speed for the 20 mile loop.  While it didn’t feel strange riding without the helmet, it was strange riding without my rear view mirror.

With regard to the selfies when cycling, I suspect it’s something we do to let our friends know that we’re still ‘in the game’ and getting in a few miles.  It’s a cyclist thing I suspect, as it’s something we see from a lot of our cycling friends and, quite frankly, something we look forward to and enjoy seeing.  Call it a virtual post-ride social.

20151128_160500Once I was back at the house I did a little work on our new-to-us, duplicate replacement for our 2013 CVO Road King which is creeping ever closer to being road ready.  I’m still waiting for the aftermarket exhaust system and a driving light to come in along with the Florida title so I can get it properly registered / titled in Georgia.  But, I also need to confirm that a fix I made to the saddlebag speakers made the saddlebags water-tight, as they were taking on water when I brought the motorcycle home in a driving rain storm.

Around 1:30pm, Debbie and I went out to run some errands before heading over to a friend’s home on the other side of Lake Allatoona for a 60th birthday celebration.  With Debbie still being under the weather and on doctor’s order for limited activities we were only making an appearance for about 90 minutes, but it was good to get Debbie out of the house and out with friends for a bit.  We were back at home by 7:45pm for an evening of college football and a little hot apple pie and ice cream as a night-cap.

SUNDAY

The weather outlook for Sunday was bleak and there was a little rain falling when I woke up around 7:00am. I’d hoped to get out for an early bicycle ride as the kids and grandkids would be coming by the house at 11:00am for our post-Thanksgiving get-together.  I used the down time to take care of laundry, some other honey-dos and also penning an update to my motorcycling blog.

The kids arrived shortly before 11:00am and we had a grand time.  The three little girls were all well-behaved and a joy to be with.  We had pizza for lunch — about as un-Thanksgiving as we could come up with and something the girls enjoy — and then played a couple of rounds of the board game, Clue.

20151129_145251After accepting the fact that the Falcons were not going to give the Minnesota Vikings a real challenge I did a status check on Debbie and then headed out for a mid-afternoon bicycle ride.  It was gloomy, but it just felt so good to be out on the bike for three out of four days of the mini-holiday break.  I could definitely find a lot of pleasure in getting in a few hours of cycling every day in a nearly perfect world.

Darn Tough11_25_13Oh, and let me give an endorsement of the Darn Tough ‘Tab No Show Light Cushion” socks that I picked up back in August.  They are without a doubt the most comfortable cycling socks I’ve worn in a long time.  As much as I like the Smart Wool cycling socks, the no-show tab design of the Vermont Darn Tough socks is definitely my cup of tea!

20151129_153917Debbie would have been right there with me cycling all weekend if she could have. However, as noted, she’s still working through a few issues and tires easily.  Having spent two solid hours playing with the three grandkids, you can imagine how drained her batteries were. So, when I arrived back home I wasn’t surprised to find my sweetie sound asleep in the family room.  I’m pretty sure she slept through the rest of the Falcon’s game and into the start of the Steelers / Seattle game while I did a few more weekend chores.

1434324997134It was a quiet night at home.  I substituted my Sunday hot wing fix with a special turkey wrap at home.  I chopped up some of the left-over turkey and heated it up mixed with Franks Red Hot original sauce — which I use for my homemade hot wings — before putting it on a soft tortilla with some spring greens and blue cheese dressing: yummy!  It was actually as good as or better than wings!  I got my fowl soaked in hot sauce, some greens and a little dressing in every bite and without having to gnaw meat off bones and dip celery in dressing.  Definitely a keeper!

So, that was about it. We finished up the evening relaxing, watching Sunday Night Football, talking with my parents and getting our heads wrapped around the return to work tomorrow.  It’s looking like a full week as Debbie has some follow-up doctors appointments, lots of work stacked up and my work-week is also filling up.  Hard to believe the year is almost over!  Oh yeah, and I’ve just been reminded that I need to put up the Christmas tree. Apparently the grandkids noticed that it wasn’t up yet and mentioned that to my dear Debbie.  Kids….

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

