NAHBS… So Close, Yet So Far (Dagnabit)

Well, I was all exited to have the North American Handmade Bicycle Show being hosted by the good folks up in Charlotte, North Carolina for 2014. After all of these years of longing to go and see the amazing work of North America’s finest frame builders, it would be an easy 3 hour drive.  I’d also get to meet quite a few builders and industry types whom I’ve corresponded with for many years but not had a chance to meet.

Yeah, well… best laid plans. This was also the year that we and our dear friends and motorcycle touring / rally companions decided we’d make the journey down to Daytona Beach for Bike Week.  Well, guess which week that fell on?!  You bet: the same one as NAHBS.  Grrrrr!

Yes, I know it’s all about priorities. But, there’s also the value of friendship and that trumps just about everything else short of family and, for some, faith.   So, while I’m disappointed that I won’t be ogling hundreds of amazing frames and bicycles or soaking in all kinds of new information in seminars at NAHBS, I’m mindful that the time I get to spend with my sweetie and friends will more than make up for my disappointment over missing NAHBS once again.

Perhaps after I close the chapter on the corporate world in the not too distant future I’ll finally figure out what my niche is within the cycling community / industry and find a way to combine motorcycle touring and cycling trade shows!  Yeah, that’s the ticket!  Hey, we’ve already figured-out how to take our tandem with us on the motorcycle, so anything’s possible.

To our cycling friends here in the Southeast, if you are the least bit intrigued by bicycles as an art form or engineering marvel you owe it to yourselves to attend at least one day of the NAHBS.  There is no where else on the planet where you’ll find that many amazing frames and bicycles on display, from builders you may have heard of and certainly many who you don’t. They’ll both surprise you with what they bring to NAHBS.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Events, Industry News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

