Blogged-out…. Really, what WAS I thinking?

In an effort to jump-start publishing on the new Tandem Club of America (TCA) blog, I took it upon my self to create a spring tune-up checklist for tandem owners.

Well, one thing led to another and before I knew it I had a five-part series underway, where each of the blog entries was somewhere around 3,000 words; yikes!  I’m not quite sure why I wrote that much and am equally curious if anyone will ever read it all.  Oh yeah, and it’s not done yet: the 4th installment is about 80% complete and I only have an outline of the 5th installment.

In addition to realizing that I can easily overdue when given a little too much “down time” — noting we were snowed-in for two and a half days last week, our second winter snow/ice event of 2014 — I also realized why bicycle maintenance is really hard to summarize in a simple checklist or even a small handbook; there are just too many variables and minute steps to take IF you want to “do it by the book.” 

Of course, the counter-argument is, even though so few cyclists maintain their bicycles “per the manual” the darn things keep on going!  So, it’s a bit of stretch to suggest that someone who rarely rides a tandem more than a couple hundred miles per year needs to do much more than put air in the tires so long as the tires still hold air and are shedding dry-rotted tire tread.  

Nonetheless, I went ahead and put in a lot of that detail in the hopes that it will at least provide some interesting “food for thought” as folks begin to look forward to spring and getting back out on their tandems.  After all, if I can get just a couple of folks to change out their old brake blocks for some new ones or realize that their tandem might be a bit more comfortable with tires that aren’t as hard as the road they’re riding on it will have been worth the time spent writing.

Once I finally get those last two installments done, add some photos and get it all published I’ll share links to our readers here.   Trust me, it’s more than you want to know!!!  However, I didn’t want y’all to feel like I’d given up on this blog and tandems.  I’ve simply been expending my writing energies on something a little bit different.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

