GoPro Update: The RollPro III Organizer & Carrying Case

gopro_camsAs I began to amass a couple GoPro cameras and the various backpacks, mounts, cases and extensions it became clear I’d need a much more flexible and compact way of keeping all my gear organized: GoPro “stuff” seems to multiply like rabbits if you don’t pay attention!!

IMG_20131230_124954_812#1Regular readers may recall I bought my first GoPro off of Craigslist and it came with a Pelican brand hardshell, padded electronic equipment case.  These cases are apparently quite popular with professional photographers and novices grabbed onto the approach for their GoPro cameras and gear.  At first I also thought it was a pretty slick way to carry around the nifty little camera, its backpacks and a few other bits and pieces.   However, once I started to use the camera, acquired a second GoPro, more backpacks and also realized that the different backpacks all require their own, uniquely-sized case back it became pretty clear I’d need a carry-on bag-sized Pelican case!  And, on by the way, the GoPro’s are designed to be smacked-around, submerged in water and generally treated like an old sweatshirt, so what’s the deal with the armored case and 2″ of foam padding?

At first I considered my old-standby, the Plano tackle boxes that work so well as bicycle toolboxes and parts organizers.  But, how the heck would one of those fit in a backpack or our motorcycle’s saddle bag?

What I finally discovered was the purpose-built RollPro III GoPro Organizer & Carrying Case made by Riseful in Southern California.  I first saw the RollPro III in a GoPro Tips video produced by Mitch Bergsma out of Austin, TX.  It really grabbed my attention, as it looked like it was exactly what I wanted.  A visit to the Riseful website and the informational video Mike had posted sold me.

I think it may have been 4 or 5 days tops before it arrived in the mail. I was quite pleased with the quality of the materials and the cut & sew work, never-mind being purpose-made for hauling around three GoPro cameras and the “essential” bit and pieces needed to use the camera.

Below is the RollProIII on the left stuffed with two cameras four backpacks, four backpack cases, the Wifi remote, roll-bar mount, handlebar mount, two spare batteries, four cables and a plethora of other mounting hardware sitting next to the Pelican case that holds one camera, two backpacks, a spare battery a few mounts and cables.  The empty waterproof case is sitting there just for scale.

DSCN0298

Here’s what’s inside the RollPro III scattered around the edges.

DSCN0297And now all tucked-away inside the various pockets that run the length of the RollPro III.DSCN0295

I haven’t decided if I’ll just get a second, small bag — something like a Dopp Kit — or perhaps a small backpack to carry the RollPro III and the rest of my GoPro gear, i.e., the larger mounts like the suction cup, helmet straps, chest mount and extension poles plus battery chargers and one-time-use, stick-on mounts.

Anyway, I’d strongly recommend anyone with a GoPro who’s been looking for the right way to organize and store their camera(s) and other essential parts that you’d want to take out into the field in a compact case to give the RollPro III a closer look.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Technology & Equip.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

