Today’s Tandem Ride & GoPro Test… “Drive By”

Screen Shot 2014-01-26 at 9.38.41 PMWe had another nice day today; perfect weather for cycling: 53°F, partly cloudy with light winds and about 50% humidity.

Our GoPro test was once again limited to one camera as I’m still waiting for a mounting bracket; might have to just go and get one at full-price here pretty soon!  Today’s test was intended to look at a slightly different helmet mounting approach: a little further back and a bit more tight on the straps.  I also thought I’d see how it worked pointing aft, in an effort to catch a bit of the lovely Miss Debbie.

Well, I learned that I’ll either need to move the mount a bit further aft or use a taller arm extension to get the camera high enough to get the tail end of my camera out of the field of view.  Of course I also learned that several motorists really don’t grasp the concept of “passing safely” on a road where there’s no on-coming traffic or waiting a moment — like 2 seconds — to allow on-coming traffic to clear.  I finally settled on highlighting just three of the seven motorists who elected to pass ‘within the lane’ even when there was no reason to and included two other motorists who garnered a “thank you” for not treating us like a dead tree limb sitting on the edge of the road.

I mean, come-on folks…  It’s Sunday, a day to celebrate tolerance, patience and good will towards your fellow-man.  Not to make a point that you’re displeased with sharing the road.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Advocacy & Access, Editorials & Rants, Video clip. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Today’s Tandem Ride & GoPro Test… “Drive By”

  1. Joe Marino says:

    Hi, Just wondering. Can your set up pick up license plate numbers?

    • TG says:

      I just pulled up some videos and I’d say it’s a hit or miss proposition. When the light was right and I actually looked at the plate, there was a good enough image that I could “zoom” in using the editing software to make out most of the letters/numbers. But, it’s far from a sure thing.

  2. djaper says:

    nice music, who’s that band..?

    • TG says:

      Thanks & no idea… It may be listed with the song directory but I’ve not noticed.

      Incompetech.com provides royalty-free music to users who acknowledge their site as the source. The music appears to be a collection of synth and studio tracks that may have been developed for other commercial purposes, e.g., video games. etc. You can always find the song title in my closing frames along with the Incompetech.com reference if you’d like to go and check it out.

Leave a Reply

