A Picture’s Worth A Thousand Words: Why I Wax My Chains….

Uggg…. ¬†Experiment over; back to paraffin hot melt wax for my chains.

grease

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Analysis, Technology & Equip.. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Picture’s Worth A Thousand Words: Why I Wax My Chains….

  1. Andy White says:

    Well, if you do oil wrong then, yes it’s a mess. Proper lubing means applying thinly along the edge of the plates while spinning it on the bike, and then whipping every thing off, over and over until the rag comes out clean. Don’t take the chain off, you can’t run a rag on it correctly! Takes maybe 5 minutes all in once a month or 2 months. Wipe it once a week maybe between lubes. Any of the “dry” solutions I’ve tried, paraffin, dry lubes, etc. don’t last long enough for centuries or double centuries, especially when the going gets wet.
    I’ve been trying more dry solutions on the mountain tandem, no verdict yet for something that last for dirty centuries.

    • TG says:

      Truth be told, I installed a new chain and decided to see how it worked with KMC’s OEM lube left in place per their instructions, i.e., “Don’t degrease your new chain, you’ll take out the valuable lube which we injected into the chain’s bearing, instead, just dry the chain’s outside, in order to prevent it from attracting dirt.” [http://www.kmcchain.eu/?en/tips/]

      Well, wiping down the chain after rides became a full-time job; just amazing how much crud spewed forth from that chain. But, hey, it was very quiet! Anyway, while dry lubes aren’t as bad, the point remains: my old-school wax remains a “good” solution. No, it’s not going to last too long on a wet ride, even when I’ve mixed in a few other waxes and oil products to give it a bit more viscosity and water resistance. But, for ‘dry’ conditions it will deliver several hundred miles of good service, and that’s good enough for me!

      So, the chain will get soaked in a solvent to remove all of that “valuable lube” and then cooked in my FryDaddy filled with a fresh bath of paraffin + other stuff.

  2. The Phantom says:

    Two words: Disposable gloves.

    But to build on what Andy’s saying, I think you’re doing it wrong. A single drop on each roller is all that is needed. Give a little time and few spins of the crank to help it soak in then wipe the small amount of residue off with a rag.

Leave a Reply

