The TandemGeek’s Blog: Reader Feedback / Survey

survey-saysJust for kicks, I thought I’d ask for some reader feedback on readability and content after adding-back non-tandem cycling articles to our blog back in January of this year.

The survey is hosted on the OpinionPower.com site and can be taken by clicking THIS LINK or either of the two images that appear on this blog entry.  

Presentation1The survey itself is very short and easy to complete; a snapshot appears at right.  As you can see, there is an introduction very similar to the one I’ve posted to this blog entry followed by ten statements: You can select as many of the ten statements as needed to convey your impressions, noting six of the ten responses are essentially either/or pairings regarding the subject matter I cover in my blog.

Like most folks who publish blogs, I value reader feedback. So, if you would, please consider taking a minute to help give me some insight it would be greatly appreciated.

I will collect responses for a few weeks and then provide a summary of the results as well as my thoughts on what I learned from readers in another blog entry.  As with all of my surveys, inputs are anonymous except where I occasionally use write-in comments and reader either intentionally or unintentionally self-identify in their remarks. There are no write-ins in this survey, so no worries, eh?

A Little More Background:

Long-time readers may recall that I culled-out articles describing our other interests such as non-cycling vacations, family and weekend activities as well as my other two-wheeled hobby — motorcycling — from this blog back in October of 2011 and began hosting that content on another blog: Riding Two-Up.  However, while “Riding Two Up” gave me a little more latitude to write on a rider range of non-tandem cycling interests, it was something of a bother to try and keep both blogs fresh and to keep subject matter from bleeding over between the blogs.

Therefore, and as I noted in a blog entry on January 13, 2013:

…as we begin 2013 I’ve decided to stop posting to “Riding Two Up’ and will, instead, post everything to my primary blog… this one: The TandemGeek’s Blog.  At the same time I’ve also decided to temper my writing a bit and pull back on certain subjects and activities I’ve previously addressed in “Riding Two Up”.

To our tandem-focused readers, please feel free to ignore blog entries that are not of interest.  While posting from a single blog does provide a more complete picture of yours truly, I can appreciate how some readers really aren’t interested in non-tandem subject matter.  Trust me, you won’t hurt my feelings if you opt out of reading certain things that pique my interest.

This survey is intended in many respects to see how well I’ve done at “pulling back on certain subjects” and achieving some level of balance that keeps readers interested, entertained or informed… instead of bored or constantly scrolling through the chaff to find the wheat, i.e., tandem cycling content.  After all, tandem cycling remains at the forefront of our social circle of friends, leisure-time activities and core of our personal fitness program.  Everything else that we do and that I write about are intended to provide insight into how tandem cycling fits into our lifestyle.  

As always, thanks for reading!

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish, Polls, Surveys, Whimsical Or Entertaining. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The TandemGeek’s Blog: Reader Feedback / Survey

  1. T. Guy says:

    May I suggest, TG, that many of the same roads that are interesting to tandem cyclists are also quite a lot of fun cycling two up with a motor. Maybe you could comment on great roads you’ve motored on that you’d like get back to on the Calfee, and vice versa.

    • TG says:

      This is very true. In fact, for many, many years Jack Goertz has talked about the need for a two-up, pedal and power weekend where tandem enthusiasts who also ride big bikes with their partners could enjoy some of the same roads and camaraderie on both machines.

  2. Hank Holcomb says:

    I like that idea!

Leave a Reply

