Anniversary Day = Two-Up Fun!

Given we took a 9-day vacation to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary back during the first week of July, it would have been a stretch for both of us to take off our actual anniversary day on the 16th.  So, after a warm embrace and deep, warm kiss we headed to our respective work places on Tuesday morning.

rosesAround 10:30am Debbie let me know a local florist had just delivered a lovely arrangement with a dozen red roses and a cute, little chocolate-brown teddy bear. At least for me, I find it hard not to send flowers to Debbie on special days like our anniversary, regardless of anything else I may have done: they always seem to make her very happy and I like it when she’s very happy!

Around noon time, and after checking the weather outlook, I sent Debbie a note and asked her if she’d like to go for a tandem ride after work and, if so, I would make a point of leaving work early enough so we could do that. She liked that idea, so we had the makings of a plan.  Although I’d asked her if she’d like to go out for dinner, she said she’d be just as happy to stay in and dine at home after our tandem ride and that sounded nice.

As always happens, I ended up getting into an impromptu meeting in my office around 4:450pm, just as I was getting ready to leave and once we got going it was hard to find an off-ramp.  However, around 5:30pm we’d pretty much run the traps, so I quickly switched boots, grabbed my bag, jacket and helmet as I made a bee-line for the door.  Traffic was too bad so I arrived home shortly before 6:00pm, about 5 minutes behind Debbie who also ended up working until around 5:30pm.  

There was a moment when I sat down in the family room to check Email and the weather when Debbie joined me when I thought – well, OK we both thought – that tandem ride ain’t happening!  The temps had returned to near normal with a toasty 92 degrees showing on the weather station and it would have been easy to just stay there and cocoon with my sweetie.  However, we shook it off, got into our cycling togs, and rolled out of the driveway for a short but enjoyable short loop from the house.  We didn’t set any land speed records either and were once again reminded that we need to get a lot more saddle time.

locoOnce we were back home and in the kitchen peeling away the top layer of sweat soaked cycling gear and throwing back some cold water Debbie turned and asked me, “ahi poke at Loco Willy’s?”  I said sure; ride or drive?  She said ride!  Love that gal o mine!!!

After taking a quick shower to rinse away the stank from our ride we saddled up the Harley around 8:00pm for the short 10-mile ride to Loco Willy’s via the twisty and always awesome “Old Mountain Road” and it felt great.  Nothing like being out on the big bike with my sweetie snuggling up from behind.  We were actually very surprised to see that Willy’s was absolutely packed when we walked in!  Apparently Tuesday is $2 Martini night, which is very popular with certain demographics.  It was actually a lot of fun and a lot more crowded than what we find on Saturday nights as we enjoyed a nice side salad and our ahi poke for dinner.  We headed back home around 8:45pm, just as the sun began to disappear into the horizon.

Before calling it a night I installed Debbie’s new butterfly display case which had just arrived from Key West on Monday; again, she was thrilled with her little butterflies!  What a great keepsake from that trip and one that will always have a profound effect on my sweetie.  

butterflies

Yes, those are real butterflies, or at least they were real for their 10-day long adult lives.  For reference, the electric blue Morpho Adonis butterfly wing spans are about 3″ x 3″. You can read more about Sam Trophia’s fascination with butterflies and butterfly art displays here: http://keywestbutterfly.com/gallery.htm

Well, that’s about it… at least with regard to what’s appropriate for our blog.  As I’ve said before, we still feel like newlyweds on a honeymoon when we’re together and do our best to keep it that way!  Life is good!

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

