Anniversary Week, Day 2 (Sunday)

grassSunday morning brought about a reality check and slight suspension of fun & games as yard work, laundry and other weekly chores still needed to be addressed by the care takers (us) so that pretty much consumed 1/2 of our day.

However, we were free and clear by 1:00pm and jumped back on the Harley for a few hours.  Our first way point was the Little River Grill for lunch which was something of a disappointment.  Mind you, LRG was already on our ‘shi*list’ because they reneged on booking Pretty Twisted for Memorial Day and Labor Day weekends as was originally planned earlier in the year.  A flashback from our first Pretty Twisted experience and first visit to Little River Grill from Labor Day 2011 below…

But, today’s visit was pretty awful. Our server was perky, but not all that attentive and they screwed up the seating on the outdoor deck such that it was way too crowded to be enjoyable.   On the bright side, the shrimp taco’s were very good even though I ordered the blackened tilapia tacos and we weren’t in a hurry so it wasn’t a big deal that we had to wait 30 minutes for our meals to arrive.

Screen shot 2013-06-30 at 9.38.48 PMAfter lunch we did a 70-mile ride from Canton through White, then up to Gordon County, Waleska and then back through Canton and had racked-up 95 miles by the time all was said and done.  It was actually quite nice given the 40% chance of showers.  The big puffy cumulus clouds helped to keep the Sun at bay and temps in the 80’s instead of the 90’s as we often times have in July and the rain never got its act together despite threatening towards the end of our ride.  Once we were back home Debbie took a nice, hour-long nap while I did a few more weekend chores, although I thought about trying to take a nap that’s something I find nearly impossible to do while the sun is up.

Around 6:30 Debbie asked me what I wanted for dinner and I told her, “Anything you’d like!” She said, “I’d like wings.”  So, we talked briefly about making the trip down to Three Dollar Cafe on Roswell Road in Atlanta but decided we’d give Olde Towne another shot before writing them off for the rest of the summer.   Well, that didn’t work out too well.  We decided we’d skip the tables and go to the rear bar, in the hopes that our friend Meghan would be working.  Well, no such luck: another completely new crew of unfamiliar faces, which was pretty true of the entire restaurant wait staff.  Moreover, the bar was cleared but hadn’t been wiped down and generally just seemed a lot less tidy than what we’re used to.  Yeah, well… the vibe was just not there so we bailed and went in search of another place that had good wings.  (Note: I think we’ve decided to give ourselves a break from Olde Towne until football begins in late August to see if it gets its mojo back: we’re hopeful that the end of summer break for the local college kids will also signal a return to normalcy.) After wracking my brain for a few minutes I thought about heading over to Taco Mac as they have pretty good wings, but then decided we’d go with our first choice: Three Dollar Cafe.

threedollarAs we headed South on I75 towards Marietta I decided that I really didn’t want to take I285 since it had been  bottled-up with construction traffic the last few times I’d gone that way and did a Navigation check and asked my GPS to find “Three Dollar Cafe”. Imagine my surprise when it showed there was a Three Dollar on Windy Hill Road in Marietta, Georgia, about 4 miles away vs. another 10 miles for the one in Atlanta.  We rolled the dice and hoped it was part of the same, original chain and were pleasantly surprised to see the familiar signage and logos when we pulled up. Once inside a look at the menu confirmed it was the same chain and the wings, Caesar salad, blue cheese dressing and friends were incredible!  I’ve got a hot sauce recipe that gets pretty close to the Three Dollar flavor, but there’s just something about their wings.

Back at home we did the weekly telephone check-in with my mother up in Pennsylvania to see how things were going there and then settled-in to watch the prime-time Tour de France summary.  I also got my head wrapped back around the reality of adding something like the 2013 Road King CVO FLHRSE5 to our stable when I remembered the gift that would keep on giving: insurance!  I shudder to think how much the premiums would be a motorcycle that costs more than any car we’ve ever owned!  Yeah, that’s a big old dose of reality right there.  I think I’m back to “let’s just rent one” or finding an older, used FLHR at some point.

Screen shot 2013-06-30 at 9.48.31 PMStill keeping our fingers crossed that the weather outlook for Key West will improve a bit, as it like just about everywhere else in the Southeast is buried under a heavy flow of moisture that’s driving 30% – 60% forecasts for scattered and/or intermittent thunder shower outbreaks throughout the 10-day forecast. This has also thrown a monkey wrench in my plans for a motorcycle trip up to the Smokey Mountains on Monday/Tuesday so I’m now trying to come up with alternatives.  I think we may have just “booked” Monday night for dinner with the kids & grandkids so we can celebrate Caroline’s birthday a bit early since we’ll be out-of-town on the actual day.

Well, that’s about it.  Not a “wow, what a day” day but a good Sunday and best of all, we don’t have to go to work tomorrow!!!  I’m hopeful that I’ll feel good enough for a tandem ride tomorrow morning so we can simulate what a Monday might feel like if we were retired!

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Anniversary Week, Day 2 (Sunday)

  1. Ed and Pat Gifford says:

    Monday feels just like Saturday when you’re retired Mark and Debbie. The only trouble with retirement is you never get a day off!LOL! Get well soon.
    Ed and Pat Gifford
    Toms River,NJ
    Doubles of the Garden State
    and Dirty DOGS too!

  2. Alex Nutt says:

    You went to LRG and didn’t stop by? We would be insulted, but since we were out riding the tandem, Starbucking, went home and polished the Goldwing for 2-3 hours. Was a nice day for a ride!

Leave a Reply

