Catching-Up: The Past Three Weeks & “Bike” Riding….

The last time I did a personal update was June 2nd in my “Random Thoughts from the Breezeway“.   The crud has had me in its grip ever since then, having now been through two difference courses of antibiotics and adding a daily dose of Claritin to my vitamin regime where I’ve boosted my Vitamin C dosing to about 5,000 mg a day.

Along the way my dear Debbie also got bitten by a small case of the crud on June 7th when her voice disappeared. I finally convinced her to see our PA and she’s been on the mend.  She hasn’t had the dizzy-ness that I have, but it’s definitely wiped out her energy and endurance.  10 hours of sleep a day has been the norm for Debbie and for me I’m up to about 6-7 hours a day; my norm is closer to 5.   She felt good enough to get out for a couple of post-work rides on her single bike just to de-stress.  I thought about hitting the trail after work a couple of times, but rain has kept the trails closed so that never happened.

On Saturday June 15th I tested my balance and rode a short motorcycle fund-raiser for the National Cervical Cancer Coalition (NCCC) solo on the Harley with my friend David while Debbie entertained the granddaughters.  David & I (wearing the red t-shirt) were caught by the event photographer rolling out of the start in the series of photos below.  Yes, the ketchup red & mustard yellow motorcycle is one of the very rare BMW K1’s.

cooch1 cooch2cooch3 cooch4

It was a beautiful day, but the grass pollen was still high so while I did OK on the ride with only one light-headed moment — more of a slight mental drift than a loss of balance — once we got to the end I could feel my sinuses were once again struggling and I was pretty exhausted.  So, it was pretty clear  I still had a way to go before getting back to something closer to “normalcy”.

300A good friend and nurse turned me on to Arm & Hammer’s “Simply Saline” saline & baking powder sinus flush last weekend. Cathy’s “nurse approved” remedy was turned out to be a great help as I’ve made a point of using it at least once a day and again after doing anything outside that could have exposed me to a heavy dose of pollen, e.g., mowing the lawn, riding a motorcycle or a bicycle ride.

My experience on Saturday kept me off the motorcycle all week for my daily commute to work but I decided to throw a leg over the BMW on Friday for the trip over to The Red Eyed Mule for lunch with Debbie.  It went OK but I was definitely rusty when it came to being on a sport bike: much more demanding when it comes to balance due to the much higher CG vs. the low-slung Harley.

This past Saturday I decided enough was enough and invited Debbie to join me for our first tandem ride in the month of June.  It felt so good to be back out on the tandem with Debbie!!  It was just our 25-mile loop from the house and while we didn’t push a really hard pace we had a good ride on what was a fairly hot but very dry day.  Unfortunately, yesterday’s ride definitely took it’s toll as I’m coughing again and feel drained.  Oh well.

It’s noteworthy that Debbie is still raving about her new Selle Anatomica saddle’s comfort on the tandem.  She’s still OK on her fiz’ik saddle aboard her single bike but on the tandem it’s been a different story.  She’s not exactly sure why she’s never been able to be comfortable on the same saddles that work on her single bike when they’re on the tandem, but she’s truly enjoying a pain-free ride on the Selle.  Getting the ride height dialed-in has been a bit of a challenge in that unlike a saddle with a nearly rigid pan the Selle sags once the rider is on it and then a bit more as the leather warms up and stretches a bit.  So I’ve had to raise her seat post a bit and continue to snug up the leather cover to get her to a height that approximates the 82.5mm pedal to saddle top height of her single bike.

Fingers crossed, the worst of the crud is now behind us and we’ll soon find ourselves riding far more often without the need to take a nap or otherwise being wiped out for the rest of the day afterwards!

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Catching-Up: The Past Three Weeks & “Bike” Riding….

  1. Frank Cottle says:

    If you like the Selle Anatomica…(I have 7 on various bikes here in CA) you should also look at the new ‘Rivet Saddles’ from Rivet Cycleworks. They take a lot of the same concepts (branch off from Selle A) but have refined the design and cured a few flaws. They are worth consideration and I find that I now prefer them to the Selle Anatomica.

    All the best… keep up the blog… Frank Cottle

Leave a Reply

