Mark Fest, Part Deux…

Right on the heels of our Key West Trip, Debbie Fest and Bike Week in Panama City Beach came Mark Fest.  Yes, that means my sweet Debbie and I were both born under the astrological sign of Taurus; hey, it works!

554554_10200531619159763_967855008_nI thought Mark Fest was pretty much over and done with on the Saturday before my actual birthday: I mean, how do you top a night of dancing to some kick-booty rock & roll and getting a personal performance of the “dirty birthday song” by our dear friend and amazingly beautiful & talented lead singer of Pretty Twisted, Jody East?!

Apparently, you top it by having your own amazingly beautiful & sweet wife secretly arrange a string of “special events” on your actual birthday under the guise of ‘going out to dinner with the kids & grandkids’.   I think it was late on Sunday when Debbie asked if it would be OK for us to have dinner out with Wesley, Julie, Caroline & Charlotte on Tuesday evening.  I said sure, as we always have a nice time and they enjoy doing the birthday and anniversary celebrations.

So, Tuesday evening comes, we meet the kids for dinner at Olde Towne Tavern & Grille (always a sure thing for a great meal & great service) and have a nice little sweet dessert to mark the occasion:  Olde Town’s insanely good chocolate lava cake, à la mode!  After that, I figure we’re headed home since it’s a work night.  Nope, my sweetie had other plans!  She’d arranged a get together with our dear friends and partners in crime David & Deb over at the Highland Grille, where the aforementioned Jody East would also be meeting us at 9:00pm for hubby “Sarge Easts” karaoke show and Mark Fest!

Seeing that it was only 7:00pm when we finished our dinner with the kids, I suggested that we bridge the gap by paying a visit to On the Border — hey, why not make it a night of favorites!  So, we dropped-in and found Ashley S. working her tookus off.  Things calmed down a bit and we had a nice time catching up with her since she’s not typically working the bar when we visit on Fridays and, well, enjoying a couple of cocktails!  Around 8:30 we headed over to the Highland Grille where I then discovered that Debbie had stashed a birthday cake in the backseat of the truck when I dropped her off at the front door and she retrieved it.  After parking the truck, I found Debbie along with Sarge, David & Deb and shortly thereafter Jody arrived.

$(KGrHqJ,!gwFBLNyovrPBQhvfQ86DQ~~60_35David & Deb presented me with a lovely stainless steel flask… something I’ve wanted will most certainly put to good use!  We had a great time visiting, fired-up the candles on the cake and then shared it with the folks sitting around us.  I think it was about 11:00pm when we finally called it a night.

What a lovely evening and surprise that was!!!   I’m a lucky guy to have such a beautiful and thoughtful wife, as well as some of the best friends anyone could hope to have!  Is it any wonder that we look forward to our Friday nights, weekends, Pretty Twisted gigs, and otherwise hanging with our friends!

431893_541749012529852_1960940396_n 247645_541748709196549_132599573_n

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

