Looking for Paralympic Tandem Team Captains: Road & Track…

Note that I’m posting this on behalf of Chazz Walker out of Raleigh, North Carolina.  Please direct any questions to Chazz via email to: chazzwan@earthlink.net

Hoping that this message will reach an interested captain with tandem racing legs.

I am mentoring young visually impaired athlete (DJ Robinson) whose goal is to make the 2016 USA Paralympic Team destined for Rio de Janiero. We are abtly called: Team Tandemonium.

Our primary sponsor, BridgeIISports out of Durham, NC is a non-profit group accepting tax deductible donations for our Tandem goals. Bridge2Sports was voted the 2012 Paralympic Club of the Year last year for the entire USA.

We have our own road tandem (a restored/updated Melton), and we also have a very fast Cannondale track tandem. Our home base is Raleigh, NC and we plan to make the Giordana Velodrome in Rock Hill, SC as our “home-drome”.

I would like to get the word out there that I am actively seeking to recruit captains for both road & track. The road captain would be needed for the 2013 Para Road Nationals in Madison, WI on July 3rd thru 7th. The track captain would be needed in November for the 2013 Para Track nationals in Carson City, CA. Our sponsors will help with expenses for these National events for the captains also. I should also mention that we would need a captain for the Tandem Evening at Trexlertown, PA. this summer. Not sure of that date yet. We have a Bike Pro tandem travel case, so there will be no problem in getting our tandem to the California events in November. I may drive DJ to Madison in July, in which case we could simply rendezvous with the captain.

Ideally, we’d like to meet and ride with interested captains before these events. Right now I have both tandems set up to accept my position (I am 5’10”). I should also mention that these 2 National events will require a USA Cycling license. Category is unimportant as all are accepted (5,4,3,2,1).

If interested, send me an e-mail and I’ll forward you my phone number & contact info.

Thanks

Chazz Walker, Email: chazzwan@earthlink.net

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Advocacy & Access, Club & Org Notices, Competition, Tandem Folks, Visually Impaired. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

