Raleigh Bicycle Manufacturing, Circa 1945

A friend recently ‘liked’ a post on a cycling club’s website that linked to a 1945 British Industry film on how Raleigh bicycles were produced.  It’s 17 minutes long, but was absolutely captivating to this bike geek so I thought I’d share it with our readers. I thought I’d shared-out a similar video made here in the US at Columbia’s manufacturing facility, but couldn’t find it in my archives.  So, I’ll search that one out on the web and post it in a subsequent entry:

Curious to see how that compares to the fabrication of a custom, composite frame?  It’s covered in the first five minutes of the following video.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Technology & Equip., Whimsical Or Entertaining. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

