So, Where Do You Store A Triplet?

Back in 2003 I helped a friend from New Jersey — Paul Meixner — polish up a series of FAQs he developed for the web on Multi-seat Tandems. That is, tandems with more than two saddles.  In the FAQs we addressed a whole bunch of things that folks considering the purchase of a triplet, quad or quint needed to think about given the size of these bikes.

The FAQ’s are still on-line at our blog’s companion website, www.thetandemlink.com, in the “Tandems” section under the title, “Triplets and Quads and Quints, Oh My! –  A List of FAQs For Those Considering The Purchase Of A Tandem With Three Or More Seats“. With our acquisition of the Precision Triplet we now faced the same challenge that we addressed in FAQ #3: What Are Some of the Logistical Issues?

We already addressed how we will transport the bike, i.e., on top of our Toyota Tundra, albeit with a hit on fuel economy. A complete run down on the car-topping scenario and what we used to attach the triplet to the top of our Tundra was covered in a blog entry last week that you can find HERE.  The only additional notes that I have since then are that you really do need two people to safely load a big bike like this on a high-profile vehicle. I was able to load it by myself for our trip down to the Georgia Tandem Rally, but it was dicey.  So, I asked for help in loading and unloading it at GTR, which a tall friend gladly provided . However, when we got home Debbie quickly volunteered to help unload the triplet and I decided that I’d need to figure out how to do it myself… just because I’m that kind of guy.  Well, let’s just say that I still don’t have the technique figured out.  I came close to a flawless removal but missed by about 2″ when the fork tabs came down on top of the open passenger door frame.  Oops. Thank goodness for touch up paint… for the truck, not the triplet: it was fine.

So, that brings us to where we were going to store the thing so that it wouldn’t be in the way but also wouldn’t clutter up the garage any more than it already was.  Given that we already had eight (8) of our twelve (12) bikes hanging in the garage, ceiling space seemed a little tight. Moreover, I needed to have eight linear feet of space available to handle the triplet with its wheels removed.  After checking out various different options with my tape measure the one location that seemed to be perfect was a space between two of the garage doors that was presently being used to store my Bianchi Pista.

So, with the Pista removed from one end and some spare rims and wheels relocated from the other, a new home for the triplet was found.  The triplet is now happily hanging from a pair of J-hooks, nestled into the generous overhead room that exists between two of the garage door rail systems in our garage.  I should note, our triplet isn’t all that heavy at 45-46 lbs with the wheels installed and easily loses 6 lbs when those big meaty wheels and tires are removed. So, with the aid of a 3′ step ladder, lifting the bike up between the padded rails and hanging it from the J-hooks isn’t a big physical task.  However, I did find that I needed to stabilize the front fork and handlebars to make hooking the captain’s stem on the J-hook a little less complicated.  The second J-hook catches the 2nd set of stoker handlebars.  I also had to flip the 2nd stoker saddle around to eliminate some interference with the garage door hardware.  But, aside from that, it’s up, up and away in the Bike Bay!

 

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Technology & Equip.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

