Avast, it’s International Talk Like a Pirate Day!

It’s true. September 19th is International  Talk Like a Pirate Day

  • Conceived in June 1995
  • Officially came out of the closet on September 8, when Dave Barry wrote an entire column about the upcoming September 19th event, at which point it became International Talk Like A Pirate Day
  • What’s the Point?  There is none. It’s just something fun to keep life light.
  • The Four “A” Words You Need to Know:
    • Ahoy! – “Hello!”
    • Avast! – Stop and give attention or used in a sense of surprise.
    • Aye! – “Why yes”
    • Aye aye! – “I’ll get right on that sir, as soon as my break is over.”
    • Arrr! –  This can mean anything, but typically used as an acknowledgement
  • Bonus Word: Savvy?  Understand?
  • Easy Pirate Jokes to Remember Using “Arrr” in the punchline.
    • “What’s the pirate movie rated? – Arrr!
    • “What kind o’ socks does a pirate wear? – Arrrrgyle!“
    • “What’s the problem with the way a pirate speaks? – Arrrrticulation!”

Ten Steps To Talking Like a Pirate

  1. Growl – and scowl often. Pirates don’t use a cultured, elegant, smooth vocalization – they mutter and growl… A lot.
  2. Use pirate lingo.
  3. Gesture with your hands frequently.
  4. Slur your words together. Use contractions whenever possible. Be sure to punctuate often with “Arrrr!”
  5. Never use “you” or “you’re” – ever.. Instead, use the piratical form, “yer” or “ya” for all forms of address to others.
  6. Embellish at will. A pirate is larger than life, and his or her speech should always reflect this.
  7. Refer to yourself as “me” at all times, never I. Example: “Got me a case o’th’sniffles, Arrrr!”
  8. More importantly, substitute “me” for “my” For example, don’t say, “Look at my new sword,” say “Lookit me new sword!.” Also substitute “meself” for “myself” as in “Got meself a right fine ship!”
  9. Mutter unintelligibly unless yelling. Being a pirate usually meant being liquored up to some degree
  10. Be as loud as humanly possible. Pirates are not shy – stand tall, me hearties, and be counted!
About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Whimsical Or Entertaining. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Avast, it’s International Talk Like a Pirate Day!

  1. David Hunter says:

    Talk Like a Pirate Day lasted all of about 30 seconds in our home. Audrey ran and hid under the coffee table until I switched back to my normal voice. O well, at least I tried.

    • TG says:

      Aye…

      Them little scallywags sure knows how to stick a cork in your bottle ‘o rum.

      It be a good thing that yous have dry-docked the little trailer given your little sea urchin’s sudden fear of the Jolly Roger and whatunit represents….

      Savvy?

Leave a Reply

