Snippets: August 21st

As a reminder, snippets are usually small items either related to our tandem cycling activities that don’t warrant their own blog entry OR our other activities and interests which may be unrelated to tandem cycling and that also don’t warrant their own blog entry.

Tandem Cycling:   Nada for this weekend.  Friday was a late night, so no early get-up for Debbie or me on Saturday, and then the chores kicked-in to consume the better part of the late morning and early afternoon and before we knew it was time for On The Border.  We ran late at O.T.B. and ended up being out until nearly 11:00pm, so Sunday morning came fast and as 7:30 am approached (the time by which we needed to leave to participate in the PEACHES ride over on the other side of Atlanta at 9:00 am), it was clear that our morning wouldn’t be starting until about 9:00 am.  And, just like Saturday, chores around the house consumed the late morning and early afternoon.  Looks like we”ll need to start doing a better job of hard-scheduling our ride time, as well as the evenings before so that we’re up and ready to ride before the day gets away from us.  I’m thinking my only hope for mid-week riding may be hitting the e-rollers at 5:00 am before heading to work at 6:00 am: yuck.  To do that I’d have to be in bed and asleep by now!!

Moto Stable is Full:  Well, looks like we’ll officially remain a two-bike family.  I simply enjoy riding my BMW solo too much to give it up, and the H-D is truly a two-up machine that only feels right when I have my beloved along for the ride. It’s still a joy to ride solo, but like the tandems… it just doesn’t feel right without Debbie being there with me.  On the bright side, I think the H-D is about ‘done’, in terms of the “Harley Tax” that all buyers incur when they buy a new H-D motorcycle, fixing things that just ain’t right and adding the stuff that’s needed to make it fit your needs and bodies.  I’m struggling with the Vance & Hines exhaust system right now, as it’s still too loud for me even with the so-called “Quiet Baffles” installed. Funny enough, Debbie likes the loud exhaust note.  I’ve got a second set of add-on baffles coming that go into the Quiet Baffles that will hopefully knock off a few more of the more annoying DBs. After that, the only thing we’re waiting for is our Leatherworks saddlebags, which are still being made.

It’s a Small World: So, we’re sitting at O.T.B. with our O.T.B. bar-mates and H-D riding companions David & Deb and talking about all kinds of stuff while enjoying our favorite libations, Maggies for us, beer for David & wine for Deb.  After solving world hunger and the debt crisis and doing some pre-planning for a Bike-tober weekend in Florida we somehow get on the subject of garage bands.  We mention that we were thinking about heading over to East Cobb where a friend was playing guitar with a small band at a rib joint and mention his name.  David asks something to the effect of, “His dad’s name’s not Ken is it?” Well, yeah, it is; why?  I ask.  “Deb and I both used to work for his dad back in the 80’s.  In fact, that’s where we met.”  No way.  “Oh yeah, and I’m the one that kinda got him back into motorcycles.”  I just about fell out of my chair: what are the odds!  I mean, really… what ARE the odds?!

Lots ‘o Stuff to Do at the House: It seems like a never-ending list of chores continues to get in the way of everything, and I”m not sure why.  Between yard care, refinishing outdoor furniture, cleaning gutters, realizing that the house needs to be painted, window sills replaced, pine straw & pine bark put down, kitchen cabinet trim painted, and on and on and on… it’s no wonder the weekends go by so fast and cycling seems to take a back seat.  I keep thinking Townhouse, but they don’t usually come with a four-car garage and a basement, do they?  At least the ones that are affordable for your basic 1099’r earning a lower middle-income wage.  I figure we won’t be able to retire until I’m 65 so we could do another 15-year mortgage to cover the gap between our home’s potential value in this depressed housing market and what an equally depressed townhouse might run.  It’d be nice to have a 2nd place in the mountains, but that’d simply double the amount of home care tasks we’d have to deal with. Ugggg.

Hey, AT&T DSL’s Down Again!!  I don’t think AT&T understands that there’s no way in heck that we’d sign-on for additional services given that they can’t even seem to keep their DSL service on-line for more than a few days at a time.  Once again, I’m only able to access the net because we have a neighbor who apparently has a cable-based or “better” type of non-AT&T service and hasn’t figured out how to secure their wireless router.  I feel bad about pirating bandwidth, but any port in a storm, eh?  I actually wish I knew who it was so that I could figure out whose service they’re using, since it always seems to be UP when AT&T is down!

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

