Decisions, decisions…. (Bloggishnish)

I have no idea why… Well OK; that’s not entirely true.  When I get in a deep funk, there’s nothing like pondering a new toy to serve as a distration.   Hopefully, common sense will creep into those flights of fantasy and bring me back to Earth before doing something that will strip the retirement fund and drive yet another year of indentured servitude.

But, in the mean time… it is fun to ponder. 

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Decisions, decisions…. (Bloggishnish)

  1. Shirley DiLorenzo says:

    Uh oh! You just had a birthday and it’s time for rethinking what’s “fun”. Been there, done that!. At least either fits two, right???

    Heading for Indiana Amish country for the weekend on our bike…tandem that is! No funk in that considering how modern and hip we’ll feel when the weekend is over!

    stokerd85

    • TG says:

      Not quite what it appears… This would be in addition to and, yes: both will ride two-up, so it’s a question of just how plush it needs to be for Debbie. The sales guy was worried about the smallish pillion saddle on the Wide Glide and I assurred him my dear Debbie was accustomed to spending hours on a saddle that was a lot smaller and harder than that! So, we’ll see if anything comes of this. Again, these were the front runners for dipping the toes in the HD lifestyle.

      FWIW, I’ve been riding motorcycles since 1973 and up and until last year we had a pair of BMWs that I winnowed down to just one, my daily commuter / sport bike:

      R1100S

      The R1150RT (silver) was supposed to be something that Debbie and I could ride together, but we just never found the time given that we were spending our free time cycling.

      Boxers

  2. Wayne Thais says:

    Concerning the co-rider saddle, there is no comparison between riding a bicycle and statically sitting on a motorcycle seat. We had a Honda ST1300 and a Goldwing and the co-rider comfort level is critical and I can tell you a little small seat will become very uncomfortable on a long ride. My wife preferred the Goldwing with backrest and aftermarket arm rests.

    I looked at HD and went with Honda, rode a HD and it felt like an antique.

    Wayne

    • TG says:

      Appreciate the insight and we understand the differences…

      Debbie has ridden pillion on my Honda CBR1100XX [Corbin Gunfighter-Lady saddle w/backrest], the R1100S [Rick Mayers custom saddle], and the R1150RT [Sargent saddle with top case] which ran the gamut of rear saddle size / back support and her petite derrière was well supported even by the very small R1100S’ pillion saddle. The aftermarket Wide & Street Glide HD saddles designed for passengers are on par with the CBR1100X saddle in terms of size and seat backs on either bike would be a requirement. Moreover, the Street Glide can also be fitted with a ‘tour pack’ for longer trips that is, in essence, a top case with one-piece passenger backrest & arm rests. It’s not in the same league as the Honda GL1800 lazy-boy lounge chairs, but in some respects and having ridden ST1300s, GL1500s and the GL1800s, and for my tastes full-on touring motorcycles are about as “fun” to ride as driving around in a nice open-top roadster, without the ability to put up the top when it rains. Even our BMW R1150RT at times made me feel like I was driving around in a car that simply lacked a top and doors… which is why I kept the R1100S instead of the R1150RT for my year-round, daily commuting needs and the occasional head-clearing weekend jaunt.

      I also understand the “retro” flavor of the HD; going from 32 years spent riding Honda sport bikes ranging from a ’77 550F SuperSport [with its mere 50bhp] to my ’98 CBR1100XX [with 150bhp & 180 mph top end] to my second-hand ’03 BMW R1100S in 2009 [with it’s 1930’s vintage boxer twin, dry-clutch and shaft drive putting out a mere 89bhp] was also a blast into the past. In fact, I didn’t even test ride the BMW because I knew that I’d have second thoughts if I didn’t commit to giving it a fair trial: bought it and trailered it home. My instincts were correct, first ride was an eye opener and I thought I was out of my mind for having bought the thing. However, the more I rode it the more I began to adapt and appreciate the old school opposed boxer motor and to this day it’s simply one of the most “fun” street bikes I’ve owned. Yeah, in certain aspects it’s an antique… and so was the R1150RT, but it doesn’t diminish the riding experience if you can appreciate those qualities.

      HD is clearly about ‘style’ and ‘heritage’ so the old school / antique qualities of the V-twin engine design that they use is intentional. Either you like it, or you don’t. Same thing goes for the rest of the styling. Underlying it all is the HD lifestyle that most folks are really buying into. After all, if you want a cruiser, tourer, or sport bike that’s “like a Harley Davidson” product but smoother, faster, more reliable, etc… they’re all over the place and a heck of a lot less expensive.

      My only two real complaints with the HD movement is:

      1. The idiocy of “loud pipes” that exceed legal levels. Hey, I like a nice exhaust note too.. my BMW R1100S even has an aftermarket exhaust with a deeper, somewhat louder note than the stock system, but I’ve kept the baffles in to keep it from being obnoxious.

      2. The other one is folks who try to sell HD on technical merit while living in denial they’ve simply bought into the lifestyle that lets them take on a different persona from who they were pre-HD. The late Bruce Rossmeyer — founder of the largest and most successful HD dealership, Daytona HD — summed it up best during an interview where he noted he reveled in building a business he called “Halloween for adults.” “You can dress up, put on your leathers, go act like you’re a biker and on Monday morning, go back to Wall Street.” And, just like tandem enthusiasts who have found wonderful camaraderie with other tandem enthusiasts who come from all different walks of life, HD enthusiasts simply own the franchise on that same camaraderie but number in the millions.

      My only other complaint isn’t limited to HD owners, which is illegal parking and selectively choosing to ride their motorcycles like kids on BMX bikes, then complaining that they’re not treated like any other motorists or getting upset when the motoring public likens their motorcycles to ‘toys’. Hmmm. Come to think of it, a lot of cyclists fall into this camp too.

Leave a Reply

