2010 SRAM X.0 10-spd + Campy 10 Ergo = So Far, So Good

As a follow-on to yesterday’s SRAM X.0 / Jtek Update #4, and as foreshadowed in Rick T’s comments, the 2010 SRAM X.0 Exact Actuation 10-speed rear derailleur provided flawless shifting on our 40 mile ride this morning.  It may be a keeper!

As you can see from the photo above, I did take some time after today’s ride to install a Jagwire in-line derailleur cable adjuster near the rear derailleur, noting SRAM doesn’t have one integrated into their rear derailleur.

Just a couple notes.  When I rebuilt my Campy Record shifters yesterday I should have probably mentioned I did not pre-load the large Coil Spring when I re-installed it.  I realized this omission on today’s ride as the downshift lever felt a little soft when shifting into the 28t and 32t rear sprockets.  It wasn’t a bad thing, but since I knew I’d missed that step I decided to go back and make that last little tweak.  Well, son-of-a-gun: after preloading the spring per Campy’s specs the the rear derailleur was doing nearly the same thing it did before I installed the new G-spring, i.e., over-shifting when moving from the 11t to the 12t, 14t and 16t sprockets. As before, I could apply a little downward pressure on the thumb paddle and that would center the derailleur over each of the four smaller sprockets.  So, I went back and released the pre-load and then reassembled the lever one last time and all was right with the world once again.  Go-figure?  I’m guessing it has something to do with my shifter, and not the SRAM rear derailleur.  So, we’ll keep using it like this and perhaps pick up anew index ratchet ring to see if that’s the problem.  I’ll may also keep eye out for another set of used 2008-vintage Campy Record Ergo shifters as well.

For anyone who’s curious as to what all is entailed in overhauling the Campy shifters produced from about 1998 – 2008, the following is a video that shows a very accurate and realistic example of the entire process.  The only big difference is that the shifter in the video has never been used and was assembled without grease.  But, everything comes apart and goes together just as shown.

Tomorrow we’ve got a local tandem club ride up in Cherokee County so we’ll see how the system does on that and, fingers crossed… it will continue to deliver flawless performance.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Technology & Equip. and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2010 SRAM X.0 10-spd + Campy 10 Ergo = So Far, So Good

  1. Mark says:

    What cassette are you using with this? Thanks. I am quite interested in your findings. I use Ergo shifters mated with Shimano RD and Dura Ace cassette, so the largest cog I can use in the rear is 27t. It would be nice to have access to something a bit bigger. We recently spent a couple of weeks riding in Turkey, and they have lots of hills – we encountered several that were 17%+. It would have been nice to have the set up you are testing. Will watch with interest.

  2. Mark says:

    Ok, thanks. I’ll be interested in further results.

  3. Pingback: SRAM X.0 10-spd + Campy 10 Ergo = I’m Impressed (Final Update) « The TandemGeek's Blog

Leave a Reply

