OK, TG now does Facebook…

With some trepidation, I’m back on Facebook.

Admittedly, I’ve truly become a troglodyte when it comes to things like Skype, VoIP, Twitter, and just about anything beyond Adobe PageMill 3.0, Email, and WordPress, noting I’m pretty much a hack at even things I do have some knowledge of.  So, I guess in my 83-year old dad can figure out how to do Facebook to stay in touch with the rest of the family, I should give it another try. I say “another try” as I’ve been there and done that once before, and just didn’t have the bandwidth to keep up with everything.

However, we’re increasingly reminded that Facebook is simply how a lot of our friends stay in touch and, well, if we want to stay in the loop and up to date, when in Rome.  Actually, it was while we were in Rome, Georgia this past weekend that one of our friends pretty much spelled it out for me when I asked, “How is it that folks are always taking tons of photos at these tandem gatherings, but we never ever see any of the photos?”  Answer: They’re on Facebook.  Hmmm.  Yeah, I guess that makes sense.  Why post a photo to Flickr, then send an Email when you can do it all in a single application, i.e., FB.

I’ve sent off a few haphazard ‘Friend’ requests to a few of the “people you may know” who popped-up right away, even though I can literally see that easily over a hundred friends and acquaintances from the tandem community have Facebook accounts. In fact, there are probably twice as many as I thought since both tandem partners and even their kids seem to have accounts!!  Good grief, as if it wasn’t intimidating enough having to play catch up with my dad, I now find I have to play catch up with 10-year old nieces, nephews and our friends little ones!!!

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to OK, TG now does Facebook…

  1. Bravo. Friend me! I so appreciate your posts.

Leave a Reply

