Shelby GT350 “Barn Find” (Bloggishnish)

Ok, time for a little distraction from tandem cycling…

In addition to getting a daily feed on what’s going on in the world of tandem cycling, I also get daily feeds from Jalopnik.com.  If you’re a car-guy… a real car guy, not one of those uber-wealthy people who collect cars like art and in the process drive the prices of what would otherwise be cool cars to own and drive beyond the means of average Joe’s like yours truly…. Jalopnik is a pretty cool outlet for information.  There’s always fascinating stuff popping up there throughout the week, but every once in a while I’ll find something that really captures my imagination.

This week, there was just such an item.  A 1966 Shelby Mustang GT350 was apparently stuffed away in a storage shed behind an apartment building in Kansas years ago and just recently discovered.  Sadly, this too will end up in the hands of some collector. You can read about it and see more photos by clicking HERE.

But, be that as it may, it was really cool to see a genuine “Barn Find” in recent times.  As a kid who got his driver’s license in the 70’s, I always coveted a ’67 or ’68 Mustang GTA Fastback with a 390 and 4 speed, and almost snagged one from a friend’s cousin in Wisconsin.  To this day I’d still like to find one, but not for the kind of $$ that they command. Same thing for a ’69 or ‘70.5 Camaro, two other model years of the iconic Chevrolets that I always wanted to own.

I kick myself for having sold my ’70 Chevelle as well as my ’75 Cosworth Vega, as those are both cars that I really enjoyed driving and can never hope to own again — at least in the condition that they were in when I owned them.  Same goes for the ’64 Ford Galaxie 500 that was passed down to me as my first car… which I refinished and had repainted at good old Earl Scheib many years ago (no kidding, they did a great job since I did all the prep work).  We also owned a pretty cool, grey-market ’85 Mercedes 190E 2.3-16V that, while a bit problematic, was the best handling car I’ve ever owned.  Unbeknownst to Debbie, I traded the Mercedes for a triple black ’95 Mustang GT 5.0 convertible as her 40th birthday present… big motor, bad handling.  Yeah, I’m a car guy at heart, but with no place to put them and no time to enjoy them (Hey, we’re into cycling, eh?), what are ya going to do.  Debbie’s little Honda S2000 is our token ‘hot rod’ in that it gives her something that’s fun to drive but practical enough to be her daily driver.

These were the “fun” cars that all could have easily been keepers… all acquired second-hand of course.

’64 Galaxie 500 (similar to mine), ’70 Chevelle Malibu, ’75 Cosworth Vega

’85 Mercedes 190E 2.3-16V (similar to ours), ’95 Mustang GT, ’04 Honda S2000

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

