The Virtual Garage Tour…

I’ve posted a number of photos from inside our garage over the years for a variety of reasons, and more recently I’ve had a couple of folks ask some questions about just what all I’ve had stashed in my “parts boxes” and the various bins they’ve seen in photos. Some other folks have been curious how the whole garage , workout room, and house are all tied together.  So, with yet another cruddy day of weather here in Georgia, I decided to use some down time to take a few photos and do a short video… well, OK: 14 minutes ain’t all that short. 

However, I subsequently decided to pull the video for a variety of reasons. Anyway, I’ve left the still photos up that show our garage before the Summer 2010 redo that prompted some of the question as to “what’s in that toolbox” or “what’s in those white drawers next to the workbench“.  My apologies to anyone who has seen my earlier entries from last summer when I shared some of these same photos and stills of the re-done garage during the actual make-over.

It was organized before the redo, but it was still a lot of clutter. About 1/2 of the “stuff” that you see in and around the smaller bicycle work bench, in the shelves next to the bike work bench, all of the motorcycle gear, and the storage containers on the wall-mounted shelves next to the coolers is still in the garage . Even the storage containers you see over the big work bench in the background are still stored in the garage. However, all of that “stuff” and those storage bins are now mostly out of view.

Because some of the contents of the tool box and other storage containers weren’t all that easy to see in the video, I included some stills.  As always, if you click on these photos they’ll open to larger views, and if you click on those they’ll open to their full-size… which is pretty large.

The tool box and all of its contents at left, and at right the trip kit with extra cassettes, chains, pedals, bar tape, headsets, seat clamps, etc.  If it can be fixed in the field, chances are I can fix it.

An assortment of parts, supplies, tools, and gadgets collected over the years at left, with a similar collection of tail lights, cranksets, chain rings, timing rings, pedals and more pedals at right. No I didn’t bother to shoot a more detailed photo of the tires, tubes and miscellaneous drawer or the lubricants & fork drawer… noting sexy going on there, or in the mud-guard, Park TS-2 and frame pump drawer.

The component drawer opened up for all to see with a variety of 27.2mm seat posts (amazingly all of our bikes and tandems use the same diameter seat post), a variety of bottom bracket types and sizes, several Shimano & Campy cassettes, probably something on the order of 20 chains in 8, 9 and 10 speed varieties, stems galore with caliper brakes-a-plenty and even a number of different disc brake systems at left. At right are the 3 bins that live over the garage door with our rear racks and panniers/rear trunk, saddles, water bottle cages, Yakima bits (noting we have a virtual store full of Yakima racks, trays, etc in the attic), a collection of nice saddles that need to be re-covered (something I’d like to try my hand at) and then mud guards for the off-road tandem and a set of Racer Blades for the road tandems.

Believe it or not, this is the thinned-out collection of bike parts and accessories.  Last year, and then again when I did the garage overhaul and clean-up, a lot of older and spare components and accessories were cleared out via the BikeForums.net and local bike club classified ad sites, with a few more going off of Craigslist and Ebay. In fact, what you see left is about 1/2 of what I previously had on hand…  Sad but true.

Anyway, there you have it. Whenever you read about me working in the garage, stocking up on parts, or adding something to my parts bins, that’s what it looks like.  And, if you’re ever at an event with us and have a problem with your tandem where a dealer isn’t on hand or doesn’t have a part that you need to make a repair, you’re more than welcome to come and see if I have something that will work. That’s one of the reasons I carry all that stuff around, i.e., karma.  If figure, if I have just about every part I could need, I’ll never need any of them.

Some might say I need therapy…  they’re probably right.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish, Technology & Equip., Whimsical Or Entertaining. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

