Park TS-2 Rebuild

I hang my head in shame... Oh, the humanity!

I’m almost ashamed to show you a picture of what my beloved Park TS-2 Professional Truing Stand looked like before it got some TLC tonight. I bought this stand nearly 20 years ago and it spent most of its life mounted to my old cycling work bench out in the garage where it wasn’t given the respect it deserved. It worked just fine, but over the years it just started to look pretty ratty and the arms didn’t open and close as smoothly as they should.

TS-2 doubling at Hat Rack for my helmet

You see, instead of being used only as a precision instrument for wheel building and maintenance, it became a convenient place to hang my sweat-soaked helmet after coming in from a ride, shop rags, towels used for drying the bikes and cars, rain-soaked chains, etc.  It also was  hit with the occasional mist of water when I washed the cars inside the garage during the winter.As a result, over the years the base and older style TS-2 main shaft, spring and lock collars with grub screws have all gotten a bit rusty.

Park TS-RK (aka, the TS-2 Rebuild Kit)

At the same time, Park had also developed a new main shaft with needle bearings, washers, and new lock collars with pinch bolts instead of grub screws and a lighter-weight spring that make the new TS-2 and TS-2.2 stands a lot easier to adjust.  And, best of all, they have offered all of these new bits as part of a TS-2 rebuild kit.  Although the kit has an MSRP of around $54, I found it on-line for about $36 when I was re-stocking my parts drawers with chains, tires, tubes, and other consumable items for the bikes and tandems.

Today I finally found myself with some free time in the afternoon, noting work commitments had kept us home this weekend instead of allowing us to head down to the Alabama Tandem Weekend, and then thunder showers kept us off the bikes.  So, after working from home until around 2pm today, I finally ventured out to the garage to take care of another errand when I remembered I’d stashed my Park TS-2 rebuild kit in the bottom drawer with the TS-2 truing stand but never got around to doing the rebuild.  No time like the present…

Ready for some TLC and new parts

Tearing it down proved to be the hardest part, as the main shaft and lock collars were nearly fused together.  However, since all of those parts were going in the trash I was able to take some liberties with Channel Lock pliers and a plastic mallet to break everything loose. Most of the parts that were “keepers” took a bath in my citrus degreaser tank and then got a once-over with a wire wheel attachment on my Dremmel rotary tool.  The base was pitted in a few places, but it’s all cosmetic… the TS-2 stands are incredibly overbuilt using very heavy gauge steel with a chrome plated finish.  In fact, I noticed a few spots of rust in the “after” photos that I’ll need to go back after tomorrow, once I pick up some new wire wheels for the Dremmel.

Ah, that's better...

Regardless, the rebuild took about 2 hours because of the extensive reconditioning that it needed.  If I’d skipped the rust removal process, the rebuild would have taken perhaps 30 minutes, tops.  There are some specific steps that you need to follow when disassembling the stand that make it all rather easy, that is so long as your lock collars aren’t fused to the main shaft.

All-in-all, I’m really glad I did the rebuild.  I was toying with the idea of getting a new TS-2.2, but really had a hard time justifying the expense since I really didn’t need a new stand or the ability to work on 29″ off-road wheels, something the new TS-2.2 is now designed to do.  So, for about 1/5th the cost of a new stand my trusty old TS-2 is as good as new.  For anyone else with an older Park TS-2, this would be a great way to freshen it up if it’s looking a bit tired, is bit balky, or has gotten a little out of kilter and is hard to re-align.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Advice & Commentary, Technology & Equip. and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

