Rollers Update…

Well, we’ve had a few distractions that have interrupted our indoor riding but, on the bright side, I was able to get in some “real” riding last Friday, which was really nice.  We had some wonderful weather right between our white Christmas and a return to work.

As for the indoor ridus-interruptus, the return to work put a big dent in our riding as I’m back to 13-hour days that put me out of the house before 6am and don’t see me getting back much before 7:30pm or 8pm.  Add to that, what will be a brief brush with kitten adoption over the past week (bad idea) and Debbie’s bout with the flu beginning on Tuesday and still kicking her butt today, and there just wasn’t a lot of quality time left for that precious hour-long spin session.

However, in the mean time, we did beef-up our indoor training arsenal… or are at least waiting for the reinforcements to arrive:

  • Our Spinervals library is getting a little bigger with some 70-minute Aero Base Builder work-outs + a few “on the road” hour-long rides: Autumn in Baltimore County, Maryland and climbing in Tucson, Arizona.
  • A Kreitler flywheel and a Minoura Mag-resistance unit are coming for our rollers… not sure if I’m kidding myself with the Minoura Mag unit just yet. If that doesn’t pan out we’ll go back to Plan A: the Killer Headwind Unit.
  • A set of e-Motion rollers from InsideRide.com should be here by the middle of next week.

Yeah, it’s a bit ambitious, but I decided that we’d be better off beefing-up our indoor equipment vs. adding another tandem to our livery (the $$ in my cookie jar that was ear-marked for the Serotta) and traded-off one against the other.

My plan is to start getting up an  hour earlier during the week so that I can spin for about 30 minutes and then do some weight work before heading to work, and then get our together-time in the evening… assuming I can get my butt home before 7pm.  That’s the wild card.  Fingers crossed, the e-Motion trainer will live up to all the great feedback it receives and will offer a more satisfying riding experience vs. standard rollers and the CycleOps Fluid2 trainer.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Technology & Equip.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rollers Update…

  1. Pingback: e-Motion Rollers… Good First Impression « The TandemGeek's Blog

Leave a Reply

