Doh! (Errata)

With apologies to all of my readers, I seem to be mis-firing a bit more often than usual of late.  Yes, yes… there are always a few typos, remembering that I typically slam-out an entry and don’t proofread.  However, my fact checking is usually pretty good.  But, as I said, there have been a few mis-fires pointed out to me over the past couple of weeks.

#1 – Way back in March I goofed when I erroneously merged two different Manfred Otto’s  into a single being in Part 3 of my Santana frame deflection test rig article.  Manfred Otto, the former professional cyclist, wrote to let me know of my error and I’ve since corrected the entry such that the name-sake of the Otto test rig is the Manfred Otto known for his work at EFBe Pruftechnik.

#2 – In another piece related to the Big-S, I made mention of an article written by Pamela Blalock who is, and always has been Pamela Blalock, but who I inferred was Pamela Bayley in my original copy.  Pamela sent me an email-poke in the ribs to coyly ask, “who’s this Pamela Bayley chic” or words to that effect.  In my own defense, I believe I may have been unduly influenced by a 1999 posting to the Hobbes list by Pamela where she had a weak moment and signed-off as “pamela blalock, aka mrs bayley”.  Now, to be fair, Pamela explained all of this name stuff in a 1997 post to Hobbsians.

#3 – This past Sunday I goofed again when I failed to realize that Santana had switched around the links on it’s “Bikes” page and initially assumed that the SE models had been dropped for 2011.  Jack Goertz dropped me a nice note to say, “not so” today, noting he’d just taken delivery of an Arriva SE.  Yes, while the individual SE model names disappeared from the three columns on their product page, links to the steel-framed SE models are now accessed using the “BEST VALUE” text (it’s hyperlinked) or Aluminum SE linked text.

I’d like to say, “this won’t happen again” but I’d be lying.  So, instead, I’ll simply try to do better.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

