Bloggishnish: October 3rd

Brrrr!!! As mentioned in the September PEACHES Ride update, Fall has finally arrived here in Georgia.  Well OK, it arrived back on Sept 21th, but the 80°F – 90°F temps didn’t subside much until this past week when early morning temps began to tickle the 60°F mark on the thermometer and then today’s 52°F temp REALLY got our attention.  Moreover, if the weather guessers are right, tomorrow morning’s ride to work on the R1100S should be a brisk 42°F.  The latter caused me to go and pull-out my heated jacket and gloves and to install the Pin-Lock anti-fog visor on my Shoei helmet.  Don’t get me wrong, I think these are the best days of the year weather-wise, as they let you spend the entire day working in the yard without dying from heat exhaustion and without changing shirts every hour on the hour.

Weight Weenies & Tandems: I think I’ve just about reached the point with all of this “gram shaving” on tandems where I’m about to build-up a 50lb touring tandem just to see if the added weight of practical equipment such as mud guards, head and tail lights, larger volume tires, etc. really does factor into ride performance for an average sport / recreational team like ourselves.

The Writings of Our Friend Bill at Santana: I was tempted to pen an entire blog entry on Bill’s latest posting to Hobbes, but after thinking about it I decided to pass: the juice ain’t worth the squeeze.  IMHO It suffices to say, Bill’s hubris has once again gotten the better of him and soured what could have been a really great contribution to the Hobbes list.

Major Project #3: After putting it off for 17 years, and now that we have a back yard to enjoy, the back of the house finally gets that extra piece of concrete decking and porch roof it always needed.

When Will My Blog Begin To Have More Tandem Info and Less Home Improvement Updates? Oooh, good question.  I really don’t know, as I’ve put off so many home projects for so long that they’re all snow-balling right now.  The backyard gave way to the shed, which gave way to the garage, which is now giving way to the back porch, which reminds me that I need to replace several doors and the house really does need some new flooring, i.e., hardwoods, tile and new carpet in select areas after 17-years of wear and tear. Oh yeah, and then there’s the rest of the window sills that I haven’t already replaced… never mind repainting the house.  Oh, does it ever end?

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bloggishnish: October 3rd

  1. Bill Cotney says:

    Just wanted to say “Thank you”!

    I had saved your blog update announcement in my inbox because I wanted to read it.

    I had previously saved Bill McCready’s post in my inbox because I HAD read it, and was trying to resist responding to it.

    Got around to reading your update today and found you saved me the trouble. “The juice ain’t worth the squeeze” indeed!

    Bill & Maggi

Leave a Reply

