A Compelling “Your Subscription Is About To Lapse” Notice….

OK, I’m being a bit lazy by knocking out some of the pass-alongs. But, hey… good information is good information.

It is with that same spirit of ‘giving’ that I share an Email I opened this evening when I finally came in from tearing apart the garage.  As background, a few years back I discovered Jan Heine’s Vintage Bicycle Quarterly and was impressed with the quality of the writing and the depth of the subject matter, given how most contemporary cycling publications have gone the way of USA Today, i.e., short attention span.  Anyway, I dove in with both feet and ordered what I affectionately called, “My VBQ Library”.  I don’t remember how many back-issues I actually ordered, but it suffices to say that I secured copies of every VBQ that had been published, along with two of Jan’s books on vintage cycling + a two-year subscription.  Somehow I missed the notice that was encoded into my mailing label that signals when you must re-subscribe to ensure you don’t miss an issue.  Actually, I saw the notice and thought I had renewed my subscription, but upon checking tonight that was not the case.

Anyway, as I said, I received what is perhaps the most compelling renewal notice to date… and promptly renewed my subscription for three years.  Yes, I’m sure I’ll forget come 2013, but at least I’ll receive another reminder like this one!

Dear Bicycle Quarterly reader,

Your
subscription expired with the Summer 2010 issue. The Autumn issue is at the printer, and will be mailed next week. We hope you enjoyed the magazine. Please renew your subscription today to ensure that you receive the Autumn issue without delay.

Here is what you will read in the
Autumn issue:

Bicycles have changed little in over a century, while there have been incredible advances in cars, trains and aviation. It is tempting to think that similar advances would be possible in bicycles if only some smart people put their minds to improving bicycles.

Numerous inventors have tried… We examine a few of these “unconventional” machines in this issue, from a historic Dursley Pedersen with its triangulated frame and suspended saddle to a full test of the latest Moulton with small wheels and full suspension. We look at the popularity of recumbents in France during the 1930s, with a report from a stage race/technical trial in the Pyrenees in 1935.

We evaluate at the competition record of “unconventional bicycles,” which is more extensive than most people think. And we hear from riders who swear by their recumbents and Moultons, and look at contemporary press reports on these designs.

To evaluate the unconventional machines, we contrast them with the best “conventional” bicycles available today, in a full test of the MAP Randonneur Project, built by a young constructeur from Portland. To round off the topic, Bruce Gordon tells us in “Builders Speak” how he made a classic bike almost entirely from titatinium and carbon fiber.

Of course, there is more in every issue: Book Reviews, My Favorite Bike, Product tests, etc.

We have almost quadrupled the size of the magazine over the last 8 years, yet we have kept the price the same, and recently added the extra-low 3-year subscription rate:

1 year: $ 32 (U.S.; Canada: $ 42; International: $ 55)
2 years: $ 59 (U.S.; Canada: $ 81; International: $ 107)
3 years: $ 83 (U.S.; not available for other countries)

It is simple to renew online using your credit card or PayPal at http://www.vintagebicyclepress.com/subscriptioninfo.html

If you also would like to order our book “The Competition Bicycle” at this time, please include an extra $65 (Canada: $80; International: $90). We also offer a number of other great cycling books, see our online bookstore at: http://www.vintagebicyclepress.com/bookstore.html
You also can send us a check at the address below.
About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Pimpin' for our Friends, Technology & Equip.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

