Finally… Shimano XT 10 Speed Cassettes!

In an effort to eliminate triple chain rings from mountain bikes while still delivering the wide-range gearing needed for mountain bikes, Shimano followed SRAM’s lead and introduced a new generation of wide-range 10 speed XT cassettes, aka, the Shimano CS-M771 10 speed XT Cassettes.

Shimano CS-M771 10 speed XT Cassette

The one that most tandem teams have been oohing and aahing over is the 11-13-15-17-19-21-24-28-32-36 model that could allow them to use a compact double instead of the ubiquitous triple found on most tandems.  Now, there have been similar cassettes offered by SRAM: the PG-1070, XG and XX as well as some IRD / Giang models. The latter have been problematic and while the PG-1070 is reasonably priced at $97, the XG ($300) and XX ($349) models have been cost prohibitive.  The always reliable XT grade M771 carry’s an MSRP of $114 and I’ve seen them as low as $74 in the 34t and 36t models.

Me, I’m still anxiously awaiting the 11-12-14-16-18-20-22-25-28-32 model, as my original plan to switch over to Campy 10-speed 29t cassettes came to a screeching halt when I remembered that you need to do a bit more to your wheel than simply changing out the cassette freehub (anyone need a White Ind. Campy 10 speed freehub or Centaur 13x29t cassette?)

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Technology & Equip.. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finally… Shimano XT 10 Speed Cassettes!

  1. billz says:

    I’m not sure what the end comment means. I run a campy record setup on my tandem. I use a campy chorus cassettes and simply reconfigure the 13-29 to a 12 or 11-26 depending on where I’m riding without any problems. It has worked for me. So, what am I missing when you say that there is more to your wheel than simply changing out the cassette carrier? Am I a case of being lucky rather than good? Is ignorance bliss? Up until your last comment I wasn’t worrying. Thanks.

    • TG says:

      I probably wasn’t as clear as I needed to be and meant to say “cassette freehub” instead of “cassette carrier”… So, you have nothing to worry about if you’re swapping Campy cassettes with Campy cassettes.

      I seem to be plagued with this fixation on calling the freehub a “carrier” since it ‘carries’ the cassette, so my humble apologies.

      Freehub

      The issue I was addressing was swapping out the Shimano 9/10s freehub on my White Ind. hub with a Campy 10s freehub… and neglecting to recall that it’s not a one-for-one swap-out: the axle needs to be off-set to make room for the wider Campy freehub/cassette and the wheel re-dished. I was all set to do that until I realized a ‘better’ and easier solution might be going to the 11×32 Shimano CS-771 XT cassette.

Leave a Reply

