Bloggishnish: June 25th

Colnago C35 50th Anniversary Prototype – Remember that list of tandems on Ebay with the ambitious values?  Buried in that list was a link to a true collector’s item, a 1989 Colnago C35 ‘Ferrari’ with 50th Anniversary Campy Record grouppo. I had toyed with bidding on this true collector’s item until I saw that it had failed to sell in an earlier auction where the high bid was $6,100.  The 2nd round of bidding had stalled at $3,600 until an unusual final bid came in at $8,500 that carried the day.  Oh, if only our pockets were that deep!  Frankly, I don’t think that was an unreasonable price for what truly is a very classic, collectable frame with a very collectable build kit… worthy of any museum with a transportation or cycling collection.

Moto-Mojo Sneaking Back? – Because an incident with my truck last week, I was reminded why it’s nice to have a 3rd vehicle at our disposal.  Having the extra set of wheels meant no need to hassle with rentals or to try and figure out how to car-pool given my somewhat bizarre work schedule, i.e., heading in at 6am and back home some time between 5pm and 7:30pm depending on what’s going on.

My little BMW Replika is still one of the more attractive fully-faired motorcycles I've ever seen... if I do say so myself.

So, I found myself back on my R1100s for the two days that my truck was at Jerry’s. Mind you, it’s still for sale and while I’ve had a number of inquiries, most buyers don’t want to pay the asking price which isn’t unusual; however, none of them seem to know how to make an offer.  They’ll all ask, “what’s the least you’ll take?”  Uhhh… what’s so hard to understand about $7,200 Or Best Offer?  Make a friggin’ offer folks.  Anyway, while the first trip to work on the bike didn’t do much to stir my juices, the second day’s trip felt pretty comfortable as I remembered why I’d spent the past 10 years commuting to work on motorcycles:  it makes the trip a little less boring and my mind a bit more active which is a good thing.  It was also kind of nice getting 40 mpg instead of 15 mpg.

Getting back to having a ‘spare vehicle’ sitting around the house, that’s also created a bit of a quandary: what, if anything, would I get as a 3rd vehicle?  The logical choice would be a 4-seater to compliment the truck and Debbie’s little red Honda S2000. The truck works fine as a 4-door, but the fuel mileage and size of the thing don’t make it the most practical choice for road trips when the truck isn’t really necessary.  I found a pretty neat little Mini Cooper with the John Cooper Works upgrades, but I’m not sure I’d enjoy our 800 mile bi-annual road trip to Pennsylvania in the Mini and it’d also be a tight fit to pack the travel tandem in back along with the rest of our luggage.  For about the same money I also stumbled on a true X44 code, 1969 Camaro SS with a 350 cu motor in pretty good shape, and that would be a hoot to have as a daily driver.   Then again, about the ideal car would be a station wagon and while I really like the Subaru Outbacks, they’re a bit smaller than I’d like and lack much in the way of panache.  The 2003 and up Mercedes E-series wagons have always been nice-looking cars but they are pretty pricey unless they have a bazillion miles on the ODO.  I was actually lusting over a couple of the E55 and E63 AMG Merc wagons on Ebay (these supercharged estate wagons pack 500+ hp and eat sports cars for lunch), but having owned a somewhat unusual, somewhat expensive to maintain high-performance Mercedes Cosworth 190E -2.3 16v in the past I’m not sure I’m ready to get back into that game. Other cars that have piqued my interest have rum the gamut: Toyota Camry, Scion XB, older Porsche 996, Honda Civic SI, Audi A6, BMW M3 and 7 series, Lexus IS, Infiniti M35, ’02 Jaguar XJR and…  Well, you get the idea, my tastes in cars is all over the map and that speaks more to the lack of passion that I have for any of them: it’s just an added expense that takes up space in the garage.  Well heck, I already have a cost-effective 3rd vehicle sitting out there right now that only takes up a little space.

So, now I’m back on the fence and unless a serious buyer comes forth in short order I’ll probably keep the bike, put all my after market parts back on and resume my year-round two-wheel commute… at least for a while.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

