Nicholas Carr asks: Is Google Making Us Stupid?

Note: While there’s really no tandem content in this entry, per se, it does help to set up an upcoming blog entry.

While driving home from work yesterday and listening to National Public Radio’s “All Things Considered” on Atlanta’s Public Radio Station, WABE, the interview with Nicholas Carr really caught my attention, noting I’m admittedly a varacious netizen, albeit with a somewhat narrow focus on tandem cycling.

However, being a regular contributor on several discussion forums, much of what he said struck a chord with me.  I don’t necessarily subscribe to everything he has put forward, but it does give pause for thought.  Also, and although not necessarily addressed in the same context as Carr’s works, back in a March 1st Bloggishnish Entry I even made mention of a related peeve I have with much of the ‘information’ that gets floated out on the internet that may be another symptom of the Information Age and Internet’s impact on how we learn, think and communicate.  More recently I’ve been wrestling with yet another symptom of net-driven behaviors and how to address it: I’ll probably post something about over the next week or so, unless I defer that entry until after reading his book.

Anyway, after listening to the interview and then reading the NPR companion piece last evening I felt compelled to invite anyone who may not have caught this episode of “All Things Considered” or who have not read either Nicholas Carr’s The Atlantic article, “Is Google Making Us Stupid?”

You can find an audio file of the Interview as well as the related articles and links at the NPR Web site by clicking  HERE.  His original article in The Atlantic, can be found HERE.  Again, interesting food for thought.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Advice & Commentary, Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

