Bloggishnish: There’s Done, and then there’s Un-Done…

After having myself fully committed to selling off my motorcycles, having them both listed and interested buyers lined up for the bikes as well as many of the aftermarket parts that I removed from my R1100S last weekend, I discovered my R1100S was running rough… like really rough when I fired it up last evening just to let it idle a bit (i.e. coughing, sputtering, and backfiring through the intake and exhaust).  Well hell… Wouldn’t you know?  It’s never done that before!?

So, I’m thinking it’s the ECU reacting to the change in intake airflow after switching the bike back to the stock intake system. The only way to get that to reset is disconnect the battery or pull the ECU’s fuse — neither of which are quick and easy to do on an R1100S — or to put a few miles on the bike.  So, I decided to ride the bike to work, noting my local BMW dealer is just down the road a piece from the plant. After talking with the always helpful BMW service techs, it turns out it was a simple fix: re-seat the throttle cables in the throttle bodies that apparently got unseated when I was working on the bike.

Now, here’s the real problem: people who give up drinking shouldn’t have a drink and people who give up riding motorcycles shouldn’t go out and ride a motorcycle, especially one that’s really a hoot to ride and looks about as good as a street bike can look.  So now I’m back on the fence with my decision to give up bikes.

What’s the tandem connection?  This is why we still have three tandems, even though only one gets ridden.  Our off-road tandem hasn’t touched the floor in over two years and our once-beloved Erickson road tandem has only been called back into service once in the Summer of  ’08 when our Calfee went back to La Selva Beach for a little rework.  Other than that, it’s simply gathering dust while still looking resplendent.  Worse yet, Debbie and I have both had a hankering to add a bamboo Calfee to our stable. Thankfully, Craig was out of the country when the last ‘urge’ struck and enough time passed that it has now subsided.

There’s just something about two-wheeled machines that captures my spirit like nothing else I know… other than Debbie!

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

