Bloggishnish: April 30

No updates to speak of this week as my attention has been focused on getting my motorcycles ready for sale, deciding what to include or exclude to keep the pricing attractive and compiling the ownership, modification and maintenance history the most-likely buyers (BMW enthusiasts, not tire kickers) would be interested in.

If you’re curious, here are some links to the information on my two motorcycles:

http://www.thetandemlink.com/R1100RT.html

http://www.thetandemlink.com/boxer_replika.html

I will say right up front that I have no stomach for selling cars and motorcycles.  I typically want them gone, price them based on what I think they’re worth, and don’t like to haggle much on that price.  What made this interesting was when I attempted to post a ‘for sale’ ad on Craigslist.org and, for the first time ever, had my posting flagged for removal… twice.  I went to the “flagged” forums to see if I could figure out where I’d run a fowl of the CL policies and quickly discovered that CL is rife with volunteer administrators who pretty much use wholly subjective judgement when reviewing ads.  My ad, it turns out, could have been rejected by “someone” (you really never know who) for any one of a number of reasons, to include several offered by the volunteers surfing the CL Flagged forum:  Ad copy was too detailed / too long, use of the word Replika and even the asking price being too high.  On the bright side, when I pressed one of the CL Admins on the pricing issue to get his 3rd party perspective as just a regular-joe consumer who watches pricing trends on CL we ended up being pretty much on the same page, but were working both ends against the middle of the equation.  The bottom line ended up being, I would probably be best served by returning the bike to as close to stock configuration and selling my upgraded components separately so that the price for the basic motorcycle was more in line with Kelly Blue Book and other asking prices for similar bikes that do not have extensive modifications.  So, today my beloved Boxer Cup Replika sadly goes up on the lift to begin the transformation back to stock trim.  It’s really a shame because the bike is just about perfect as it sits today. Cest la vie.

Tandem Stuff:  Later today perhaps… just a couple things that I’ve seen coming across the boards and perhaps a few other thoughts.

About TG

I've been around a bit and done a few things, have a couple kids and a few grandkids. I tend to be curmudgeonly, matter-of-fact and not predisposed to self-serving chit-chat. Thankfully, my wife's as nice as can be otherwise we'd have no friends. My interests are somewhat eclectic, but whose aren't?
This entry was posted in Bloggishnish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

